Ecotourism Facilities in Queensland National Parks

The Queensland Government is committed to growing ecotourism and will partner with potential investors to:

  • create high quality sustainable ecotourism products, experiences and activities that offer visitors something unique
  • enhance Queensland’s reputation as a world leading ecotourism destination
  • support the economic growth and long-term job creation
  • maximise the public benefit.

To encourage greater access to national parks, the Nature Conservation Act 1992 (NC Act) has been amended, enabling the authorisation of ecotourism facilities in national parks and national park (recovery) (including Indigenous joint management areas) and national park (Cape York Peninsula Aboriginal Land).

This amendment ensures all approved ecotourism facilities are in the public interest, environmentally sustainable and, to the greatest possible extent, preserve the land’s natural condition and protect its cultural resources and natural values.

Suitably experienced individuals and organisations are invited to submit their proposals for developing privately owned, low impact, purpose-built ecotourism infrastructure through this expression of interest (EOI).

Proposals can be made for infrastructure in:

  • national parks, including national park (recovery) and national park (Cape York Peninsula Aboriginal land)
  • other protected areas including conservation parks, resources reserves and forest reserves; and
  • State forests and other State owned and managed lands adjacent to national parks.

This EOI is the first stage in selecting successful ecotourism proposals to be authorised under the NC Act.

The tender process will be conducted in two stages:

  • Stage 1 – Invitation for expressions of interest (EOI)
  • Stage 2 – Request for detailed proposals

The EOI is designed to qualify proponents by determining how appropriate the development concept is for the site and whether the proponent is suitably experienced and has capacity to finance and operate the project.

Submissions must be received by 4.00 pm (EST) on Friday 27 September 2013.

%d bloggers like this: